Sign up
news article img


Six Man City Players, Messi, Mbappe Up For Best FIFA Football Awards

The list of nominees for this year’s Best FIFA Football Awards has been unveiled, and it’s as star-studded as it gets! Six players of Manchester City’s treble-winning team scored nods for best men’s player, along with Lionel Messi and Kylian Mbappe. Messi, who won the trophy for the best men’s player on two separate occasions, is one of the players in the running for this award again. He’ll have to face tough competition from his former Paris Saint-Germain teammate Kylian Mbappe in this crowded field. Several Man City players are also contenders for this award, including Erling Haaland, Julian Alvarez, Kevin de Bruyne, Ilkay Gundogan, Rodri and Bernardo Silva. “Six of the 12 nominees for The Best FIFA’s Men Player Award are from Manchester City’s treble-winning side, as well as their manager Pep Guardiola, who is nominated for The Best FIFA Men’s Coach alongside four of his peers,” reads FIFA’s official press release. As for the nominees for the best women's player, several members of Spain’s FIFA Women’s World Cup winning team made the cut, including Golden Ball Award winner Aitana Bonmati, Jennifer Hermoso, Mapi Leon, and Keira Walsh. The Best FIFA Football Awards will be voted by the fans and the voting is open until October 6. Best Men's Player Lionel Messi (Argentina and Paris Saint-Germain/Inter Miami) Kylian Mbappe (France and Paris Saint-Germain) Victor Osimhen (Nigeria and Napoli) Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Georgia and Napoli) Declan Rice (England and West Ham/Arsenal) Marcelo Brozovic (Croatia and Inter Milan/Al-Nassr) Erling Haaland (Norway and Manchester City) Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium and Manchester City) Julian Alvarez (Argentina and Manchester City) Rodri (Spain and Manchester City) Bernardo Silva (Portugal and Manchester City) Ilkay Gundogan (Germany and Manchester City/Barcelona) Best Women's Player Aitana Bonmati (Spain and Barcelona) Linda Caicedo (Colombia and Real Madrid) Rachel Daly (England and Aston Villa) Kadidiatou Diani (France and Lyon) Caitlin Foord (Australia and Arsenal) Mary Fowler (Australia and Manchester City) Alex Greenwood (England and Manchester City) Jennifer Hermoso (Spain and CF Pachua) Lindsey Horan (United States and Lyon) Amanda Ilestedt (Sweden and Arsenal) Lauren James (England and Chelsea) Sam Kerr (Australia and Chelsea) Mapi Leon (Spain and Barcelona) Hinata Miyazawa (Japan and Manchester United) Salma Paralluelo (Spain and Barcelona) Keira Walsh (England and Barcelona) Best Men's Coach Pep Guardiola (Manchester City) Simone Inzaghi (Inter Milan) Ange Postecoglou (Celtic/Tottenham Hotspur) Luciano Spalletti (Napoli/Italy) Xavi (Barcelona) Best Women's Coach Peter Gerhardsson (Sweden) Jonatan Giraldez (Barcelona) Tony Gustavsson (Australia) Emma Hayes (Chelsea) Sarina Wiegman (England) Best Men's Goalkeeper Yassine Bounou (Morocco and Sevilla/Al-Hilal) Thibaut Courtois (Belgium and Real Madrid) Ederson (Brazil and Manchester City) Andre Onana (Cameroon and Inter Milan/Manchester United) Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Germany and Barcelona) Best Women's Goalkeeper Mackenzie Arnold (Australia and West Ham) Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany and Chelsea) Catalina Coll (Spain and Barcelona) Mary Earps (England and Manchester United) Christiane Endler (Chile and Lyon) Zecira Musovic (Sweden and Chelsea) Sandra Panos Garcia-Villamil (Spain and Barcelona)